Interests Explained

10 minute read

In this Blog I will explain why I am interested in and what exactly interests me about it


Philosophy

Philosophy is my main interest. I am deeply interested in the following:

  • epistemology, the study of knowledge
  • metaphysics, the study of reality,
  • personal philosophy, which encompasses for me; world-view, attitude, beliefs, values, and principles that guide an individual's behavior.

I am fascinated by people who think differently. By people who think about the world, what it means to be alive, what it means to be human, and how to live a proper life. I rejoice when I see aphorisms that I can examine and think through. I always found characters who examine their beliefs, change and have a unique view of life to be absorbing and inspirational. My profound interest came into place when I questioned life and its meaning of it and I was shocked when I noticed my irrelevancy and insignificance within the universe and others must have come to the same realization so I began searching and here I am now.


Psychology

Psychology is another interest of mine, I love human behavior and I love to examine their reasons for choosing a certain action. Further, I enjoy developmental and cognitive psychology which are the studies of how we learn and how perception, thinking, intelligence, and memory work. I also need to express my great appreciation for Adlerian and Jungian psychology even though I would argue that as of now there are more philosophies or theories in regard to human behavior than actual psychological procedure/therapy. Jungian archetypes and dream analysis are some things I will get into in the future.


Neuroscience

Neuroscience is about the biological foundation of the central nervous system and is deeply connected to psychology. I personally greatly enjoy the study of cognition (cognitive science) and I wonder how other cognitive capabilities work such as sensing and feeling. Neuroscience is for me a necessary complementary subject to my main interest: the brain


Computer Science

Computer Science is fascinating. Building your own projects and actually creating something without actually having to use your hands (I am also impressed by engineering, but I am more of a digital guy). I am also in love with the idea of abstraction which is in my opinion the guiding principle of computer science: the idea that you can make a bigger part out of a small mechanism and reuse this newly greater part to make even bigger parts is totally impressive and captivating. That humans have climbed the multi-layered process of going from mechanical relays to signal an on-off status to full web development stacks is mind-blowing. It's like a staircase of abstractions, pure brilliance.


Literature

Classics classify as classics because of how long they survived and how great their influence was on culture. That is why I am eager to read all the great pieces. To understand their importance and influence on culture. Furthermore, they are simply written greatly, they're the pinnacle of writing and you can learn a lot by wrestling with them.


STEM

I am naturally inclined to STEM subjects and I spent most of my time in school studying science and math. I am deeply interested in technology and impressed by engineering. But my interest in STEM does not pertain to a particular subject, even though if I had to choose one I'd say it's math, but rather it's about isolated concepts and ideas I find to be very interesting.


Business

I enjoy competitive games and business is by far the most competitive game one could play. I am also fond of working for myself. It combines several skills such as planning, management, decision-making, and risk management which sounds extremely and entertaining. Also, money is essential in a capitalist society and I think self-employment is an adventure.


Sociology

When it comes to sociology I especially enjoy social system theory which is in my opinion correlated with metaphysics. Social system theory tries to explain society as a complex arrangement of elements, including individuals and their beliefs, as they relate to a whole. Secondly, I am curious about media theory which are theories on the relationship between an individual and media. Most notable in thinkers such as Luhmann, Adorno, Enzensberger or Debord


-- 02.08.2023 --

You wanna discuss or talk about any of my interests? Hit me up on discord thoree. or twitter @02thore

Further essays

s